Club news

16/17 EIHL season concludes in dramatic style

The 2016/17 Elite League season came to a dramatic conclusion with the Sheffield Steelers denying the Cardiff Devils a Grand Slam by lifting the Playoff trophy at the Motorpoint Arena in Nottingham.

Fans of all ten Elite League clubs were treated to a sensational weekend of hockey, ending with Levi Nelson's 6-5 overtime winner for the Steelers in the second period of overtime.

Overview of the Playoff weekend results:


Cardiff Devils 4 Dundee Stars 2 (Game Sheet) (Report) (Highlights)

Sheffield Steelers 2 Belfast Giants 0 (Game Sheet) (Report) (Highlights)

Playoff 3rd/4th Place

Belfast Giants 15 Dundee Stars 8 (Game Sheet)

Playoff final

Cardiff Devils 5 Sheffield Steelers 6 OT (Game Sheet) (Report) (Highlights)

The Genting Casino Coventry Blaze congratulate the Steelers on their playoff victory, as well as the Cardiff Devils on winning the Elite League Championship, the Challenge Cup and the Erhardt trophy. The Gardiner Conference winners were the Braehead Clan and the UK saw European success too with the Nottingham Panthers becoming the first British team to win the IIHF Continental Cup.

Individual player awards:

Forward of the year: Joey Martin (Cardiff Devils)

Defenceman of the year: Andrew Hotham (Cardiff Devils)

Netminder of the year: Ben Bowns (Cardiff Devils)

British player of the year: Colin Shields (Belfast Giants)

Coach of the year: Andrew Lord (Cardiff Devils)

Elite League Player of the year: Andrew Hotham (Cardiff Devils)

First all-star team

Goaltender: Ben Bowns (Cardiff Devils)
Defenceman:  Andrew Hotham (Cardiff Devils)
Defenceman:  Jim Vandermeer (Belfast Giants)
Forward: Joey Martin (Cardiff Devils)
Forward: Vinny Scarsella (Dundee Stars)
Forward: Mathieu Roy (Sheffield Steelers)

Second all-star team

Goaltender: Shane Owen (Fife Flyers)
Defenceman: Derrick Walser (Belfast Giants)
Defenceman: Félix-Antoine Poulin (Dundee Stars)
Forward: Matt Beca (Braehead Clan)
Forward: Blair Riley (Belfast Giants)
Forward: Scott Pitt (Braehead Clan)