Club news

Devils win PredictorBet Playoffs

In front of a packed Motorpoint Arena crowd, the Cardiff Devils made history as they won their first ever play-off title in Elite League history and first since the old Super League era in 1999.

Matt Pope, Andrew Hotham and Jake Morrissette were the scorers, beating Sheffield Steelers 3-1 (report) (highlights) to add the playoff-off title to their Elite League Championship.

Devils made their way to the final dispatching Gardiner Conference winners Fife Flyers 4-0 (report) (highlights), whilst the Steelers left it late to tie the game and then beat Nottingham Panthers in the other semi-final 5-4 (report) (highlights).

In Corey Neilson’s final game as coach, and Great Britain International David Clarke’s final appearance, the Panthers beat Flyers 8-2 in the Consolidation Final (highlights).

2017/18 Season Winners

Elite League: Cardiff Devils

PredictorBet Playoffs: Cardiff Devils

Challenge Cup: Belfast Giants

Erhardt Conference: Cardiff Devils

Patton Conference: Manchester Storm

Gardiner Conference: Fife Flyers

Individual Awards

The Devils swept the Elite League Awards for the 2017/18 season.

Forward of the year: Joey Martin

Defenceman of the year: Andrew Hotham

Netminder of the year: Ben Bowns

British player of the year: Ben Bowns

Coach of the year: Andrew Lord

Player of the year: Joey Martin

First All-Star team

Ben Bowns - Cardiff Devils

Andrew Hotham - Cardiff Devils

Jesse Craige - Guildford Flames

Joey Martin - Cardiff Devils

Mike Hammond - Manchester Storm

Sebastien Sylvestre - Belfast Giants